Musings – Trouble with the Star Wars mafia

15 06 2007

As if trouble is not already synonymous with crime boss Jabba the Hutt in the movie, I’ve run into a dispute on Jabba’s insistence to bring in his throne into the Cabinet. Some weeks ago, I verbally agreed to Jabba’s request to a throne – just like in his Palace. I did a quick assessment of the space required and it seemed ok. Anyway, I pity this creature of a slug having to sleep on the cold hard glass shelve in my cabinet. I even made plans to rearrange every tenant in the Cabinet and have Jabba relocated to the ground level to make it easier for the throne to be shifted in.

Lo and behold, the day came when someone knocked on my door and opening it I almost fainted from shock. Jabba’s throne had arrived and the delivery guy(yes, the local shop provided home delivery for this humongous… furniture) had carted the throne to my floor on a trolley. As I motioned him to bring it in, I could see how heavy it was as the delivery man had to stress every sinew and muscle to lift the box into my foyer. It’s even bigger than Jabba’s box!

Still in shock at how huge this… thing was, my next thought was how Mrs SWFToys would think of this new toy. There’s no way to put it away discretely now. Obviously, I have to put it on the floor of my study which is already receding due to my other toy boxes. Moments later, Mrs SWFToys trotted down the corridor curious about who was at the door. And there I was standing next to this box with the following words emblazoned over it:

Sideshow Collectibles

 

Thousand Oaks CA

 

12″ Jabba Throne Set

Being the inquisitive person she is, she was immediately all over the package inspecting it and asking questions. Naturally, I told her it’s an accessory for Jabba. “So BIGGGG???”, was her exclamation. I nodded sheepishly and proceeded to lug the box to the study.

Check out the size of this thing from the in the pics with reference from the 12″ figures next to the box! I’m seriously curious what is inside! Will it fit into my cabinet? Stay tuned.

 


Actions

Information

10 responses

24 06 2007
Gab

Ouch, that’s a doozy! BTW the Hot Toys New Generation Life Action Figure is one amazingly well articulated body, love mine (changed head and hands though): http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/5388/p6160024no9.jpg

25 06 2007
swftoys

Nice one Gab. Where did the head come from? I’m looking for a Hot Toys black body myself.

25 06 2007
shaun

real funny tale there Vince 🙂

The Hot Toys black body should arrive in June-July locally IIRC.

25 06 2007
Gab

It’s the head from the Hot Toys SOCOM UDT SEAL, wanted something with a more sunburned look. Looking forward to the second wave and the “bronze” figure.

25 06 2007
swftoys

Thanks for the tip Shaun. I hope I can get it since I did not do a PO with TFH.

25 06 2007
shaun

Action City should bring this in too, considering their link with toy hunters in HK. I heard they were selling the Asian and Caucasian GL bodies for only S$30 in Nov/Dec last year.

29 06 2007
eighthsamurai

just received my jabba throne through the post too! WOOOOAAAHHHH mama! this thing is just humongous!! never thought it would be this big!

29 06 2007
swftoys

Congrats! Comforting to have someone share the shock with me. It’s one heavy bugger rite?

30 06 2007
eighthsamurai

heavy is right. i honestly thought it was a widescreen TV someone had dropped off by mistake. i haven’t opened it up properly yet but it has me wondering – does it really need this much packaging?

30 06 2007
swftoys

Ha. I’ll find that out as well when I get to opening it! Isn’t it just a slab of concrete? 😛

Leave a comment