Travel – Hong Kong 2007 Pitstop 1: CTMA Centre @ Mongkok

24 03 2007

The first pitstop for my Hong Kong trip would also be my favourite toy destination. That was my resolve while I was on the ferry heading to the China Ferry Terminal in Tsim Sha Tsui. And this location is none other than CTMA Centre in Mongkok. To be exact, it is at the corner where the end of Sai Yeung Choi Street South meets Dundas Street. It was certainly a silent sense of joy when I saw the neon-light signs of CTMA Centre again.

CTMA Centre houses many toy shops… as well as stores for ladies wear. And this is a wonderful mix of store variety… in my opinion at least. If you are heading for CTMA Centre with your wife/girlfriend in tow, you can be sure that the ladies will be able to shop while you take in the sights of the toy shops’ glass displays. In short, you should not have the problem of a bored female companion pressuring you to get out of the toy store! Isn’t that what we want? Shop in peace? Woohoo!

I would consider the major toy tenants here to be Toy Hunters and Superman Toys. They are just twice the size of the other toy shops here. Toy Hunters are the distributors for Hot Toys figures. They usually update their shop display with the latest Hot Toys releases. In Sept 2005, it was the Apone-Vasquez Alien 12″ figures. This time, it was Ripley and the rest of the remaining Marines. It’s been a while huh. Other figures on display were Robocop 3, Rocky, T2 Endoskeleton and other figures slated for release during this period. Other stuff on display include Sideshow’s products. I took in the complete shock of how big Jabba’s throne would be when I saw it in the shop’s display. There was also the Alien Queen at the back of the shelve! Ooo… delicious!

Superman Toys is … a bigger shop with plenty more walking space and glass displays. The average toy shop here is pretty cramp as every inch of space is used for putting a toy on display. I remembered buying Guyot from the Guyver series from Superman Toys back in 2005. Superman Toys can also be accessed from a stairway on the side of the building facing Dundas Street.

Shops in CTMA Centre carry a huge variety of toys from 1/6 figures, chogokins, Saint Seiya, Masked Riders, Ultraman, Macross, Gundam kits, Master Replicas, small collectibles and many others. It would be wise to scout out all stores before confirming the decision to buy. I checked all stores for my Takara Masked Rider No. 2 figure(including places outside CTMA Centre) before buying from a store here which had a price of 1280 HKD. Toy Hunters quoted me 1585 HKD. Do the maths and you know the difference! And remember to visit the basement as the 2 floors below have more toy shops than above.

CTMA Centre ranks as the No. 1 spot for hunting toys in Hong Kong in my opinion. There are many stores housed within it allowing lots of browsing and comparison of prices. It’s centrally located in the bustling Mongkok and is about 2 mins walk from the nearest Mongkok MTR exit. If you are having a problem deciding which toy to buy with your budget, you can ponder over a dessert in the Xu Liu Shan store a stone’s throw across CTMA Centre. If you only have time for one place to shop for toys, CTMA Centre is probably the best bet!


Actions

Information

42 responses

5 04 2007
Kenny

Hey did you spot the special edition brown alien by hot toys? I’m looking all over for it.

5 04 2007
swftoys

Nope only saw the Queen Alien.

13 05 2007
Hong Kong Travel Itinery « Fortress of Testicular Fortitude

[…] an excellent, if not the BEST guide for 1:6 collectors. I’ll definitely be visiting CTMA, where Toy Hunters, Hot Toys‘ official distributors are. Also, Marvin just spotted these guys […]

13 05 2007
It REALLY was fun to stay at the... « Fortress of Testicular Fortitude

[…] most importantly, CTMA, the fabled toyhub of Mongkok. SWFToys has a detailed post on CTMA here, essential reading […]

2 07 2007
Doly Sinaga

Do you have any suggestion on finding old Hot Toys figues?

I’m looking for the 1/6 US NAVY SEAL NIGHT OPS JUMPER from Hot Toys. There’s one listed on ebay from a HK seller but it’s USD 200. I have a friend coming there on August 2007 and I might just be able to buy it through her, hopefully at cheaper price.

And thanks for the guide, this sure will help my friend when she gets there.

2 07 2007
swftoys

Hi Doly,
The best bet is still the shops in CTMA centre and Richmond centre. For CTMA, check out Toy Hunters first as they are the distributor for Hot Toys. But cross your fingers.

When I was there in March, I was looking out for the SOAR but could not spot any.

Good luck!

4 07 2007
Doly Sinaga

Thanks for the heads up.

Oh, I forgot to ask. How much are the prices for Hot Toys current and latest releases at Toy Hunters? The official HT website never mentions the MSRP prices and I’m curious whether TH is selling them at or below the MSRP. I also want to know how broke I’m gonna be when she gets there 🙂

4 07 2007
swftoys

Hi Doly,
Come to think of it, I’ve yet to buy Hot Toys figures from the Toy Hunters store as they are readily available locally. But expect MSRP prices for new figures.

I’ve inquired about older figures before and the prices are more steep than the other stores in CTMA (that is if they carry the same figure).

Broke? You’ll be getting a few figures? Transport home will be a challenge!

15 07 2007
mario

HI doly, i like to give the address to visit your store, i will go to Hong Kong these month and i’m a star wars collector.
Thanks
send me more information about the direction, and phone to my e-mail

29 08 2007
Jon T

Yeah, the CTMA just has to be number 1 for toys in Hong Kong. I actually missed this place the very first time I visited Hong Kong – but I was determined to track it down the next time! The only problem (and it’s a big one), was that many of the smaller retailers didn’t open until quite late in the day.

I recall waiting for quite some time after 5pm one day just to hunt down some Japanese G1 figures prominently displayed in a closed shop window in the basement. The owner never came in time and I had other things I wanted to do on holiday. Hopefully they’ve all got opening times listed on the windows by now!

1 09 2007
swftoys

Hi Jon,
Yeah, it’s a destination not to be missed by us! Going there after 5pm is probably the safest bet for all stores to be opened.

Bring back an update the next time you are there!

5 10 2007
jedi_slayer

Hi swftoys,
You have provided a great guide for me. I will be going HK in Nov. Do most of the toy shops accept Credit Cards? Do you see lots of Star wars Kubrick? Thanks

6 10 2007
swftoys

Hi jedi_slayer,
As of my last trip there, most of the shops do not accept Credit Cards. I had to go to the ATM to withdraw cash on several occasions. So don’t plan your purchases around the use of Credit Cards. Toyzone accepts Credit Cards though.

As for Star Wars Kubricks, they are available but these are really down to which piece/set you are looking for.

Have a great trip!

9 11 2007
HMS

Hi

Can you tell me if you stock Dragon tiger tanks???

Many thanks
H

11 05 2008
craigyip

Pretty good place to go. Course when I went it was full and packed and well, walking was pretty difficult… so surprised to see it so empty and you being able to actually take pics!

13 08 2008
Apichart

Do you have a neo blythe doll? Please answer me at my email.

Thank you very much

21 08 2008
LEONYDAS

Hi everybody, I’m planing a trip to HK in a couple of months and I’ve read everywhere that CTMA is the place to go if searching fot toys, I’m interested in vintage toys, old POPY and CHOGOKIN robots, also vintage TAKATOKU macross, and love gashapones, are there stores whit this kind of merchandise???
Thanks for the help.

2 09 2008
finkelchang | hk | 2009 » The neighborhoods!

[…] [Note: Several stops north of TST in Kowloon, on the edge of the New Territories beyond, Mong Kok was a mostly seedy area that’s since become gentrified with the HK staples of high-rise condos and high-end retail. For the hedz, check out the CTMA Centre, though; it’s a shopping center devoted to vinyl toys and collectibles, and is home to the famous Superman Toys] […]

10 12 2008
budwhite

Hi, just came from HK last week, was able to go to CTMA, Animate (across CTMA), Sino Centre (back of CTMA along Nathan) and 111 Richmond Bldg (Argyle) only, and missed Toyzone Causeway, Fuk Wing Street and Sin Tat Bldg… coz of time constraints, vacationing with my wife and son…and my mother-in-law…

Anyway, i scored my first 1/6th custom-assembled Bruce Lee Game of Death at a store in Richmond that sold 1/6th stuff only, the name is Century Hobby Models Shop at the 2nd floor i think. Lots of loose consigned stuff at the upper floors.
I also bought a lot of not-so-expensive NECA’s from the only store on the left when you go up the escalator to the 2nd level (or was it 3rd?)

At CTMA, you’ll find
Toy Hunters is a literal toy paradise, would’ve wanted to linger longer there but schedule is tight.
For vintage robots, its Superman Toys.

After CTMA, don’t forget to walk across to ANIMATE at the 2nd level! Lots of wonderful stuff there at wallet-friendly prices too, Revoltechs, sexy animes.
They have full-wall displays of collectibles (not for sale) that’ll make your mouth water and you’re knees melt… no… seriously.

27 12 2009
zion

HI everybody!! where can I find super mario figures and other nintendo characters in Hong Kong? Big Thanks!!

15 01 2010
Boo

Where can I get a white tiger stuffed toy? Reply in email please
thanks 😀

12 04 2010
andari

Where I could buy car miniatures / reolica in hongkong with wide varieties?

21 07 2010
Kai

Please tell me more I can buy POPO Doll at CTMA( Hong Kong) Where the floor to sell POPO Doll?

I would like to buy urgent?

Many thanks…

1 11 2010
Gen

Hi everyone…please help me! where can i buy gx-31 voltes v,kamen rider black sh figuarts ang battle hopper??Many Thanks!

3 03 2011
Tian

Hi i want buy gundam red astray perfect grade at Hong kong in this coming April. So around much?

3 03 2011
Tian

Hi i want buy gundam red astray perfect grade at Hong kong in this coming April. So around much? Where can buy this model kit in Hong Kong

3 03 2011
Tian

Anyone can reply or email me!

26 06 2011
spidey

hi swrftoys,
do they sell spider-man figurrines at CTMA?

thanks!

7 07 2011
Shaun Wong » Blog Archive » Hong Kong 2007

[…] most importantly, CTMA, the fabled toyhub of Mongkok. SWFToys has a detailed post on CTMA here, essential reading […]

22 07 2011
Simon Lim

Hello swrftoys

do you know where in Mongkok or Jordan that sells diecast cars like HUng Hing in wan Chai ?? They sell mostly cheap with and without packaging. I’ll be there Aug18.

thanks

31 08 2011
rebecca

which store can I find pullip dolls in?

31 08 2011
rebecca

where in ctma center can I find pullip dolls???

18 03 2012
Mee_C

Anyone know whether CTMA Center has shops that sell Barbie Collector? Any place I can go find it.

19 04 2012
Georg

Hi, we are two Austrian guys visiting Hong Kong at the moment. We have checket the stores that states. Great stores. Do you probably also know a store that sells dunnies and kidrobot products?
Best regards,
Georg

22 05 2012
eddie

Hi, where in hongkong can I buy Star Wars gunship and AT-TE?

19 07 2012
Jun dawn

Hi, can anyone advise me where can I get the Avengers Cosbaby? or thumbdrive for Hunk, Iron Man, Captain America, Thor?

27 08 2012
Ho Ming

Buyer Beware

Bought from shop 407(chinese name) on the 4th Floor CTMA centre, items where of either poor quality or bootlegs (GSC brand so probably bootlegs)

Learned a lesson always get a reciept don’t get shafted.

17 01 2013
Abdul

Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you actually understand what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally talk over with my web site =). We could have a hyperlink change agreement among us!

3 05 2013
Hong Kong – China – Macau (Travel Note) | Perjalanan Bunda

[…] MTR from Tsim Sha Tsui to Mongkok Station Exit E2, went to Toy Mart at CMTA Center (recommended on https://swftoys.wordpress.com/2007/03/24/travel-hong-kong-2007-pitstop-1-ctma-centre-mongkok/ but Alif had no interest to purchase anything there), later walked to Ladies Market […]

28 05 2013
hcg for weight loss

Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really
well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

30 06 2013
ncis los angeles saison 4 multiupload

I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

6 08 2013
mcm キーケース

ロンシャングアム

Leave a comment