Incoming – Medicom 12″ Boba Fett

26 09 2007

Here’s an incoming that I had been awaiting eagerly for. It’s Medicom’s 12″ Boba Fett!!! And I found out how excited I was with this figure when I found myself humming John Williams’ galactic tune as I rode out of the mall with Boba in tow. And I did not notice it until I stopped at a red light. Then I thought to myself, “Did I hum when I collected the other Jedi?”. Well. the answer is… no. That’s how much I am look forward to Boba Fett.

Despite my frequent complains about Medicom’s 1/7 scale figures, this Boba Fett is one figure I have no qualms getting. Strange isn’t it? We can overlook certain things when we are head over heels in love with it. Fans’ love relationship with Star Wars’ no. 1 bounty hunter… and his dad has certainly given Medicom the inspiration to be the first to release a 12″ Boba Fett after the last attempt some 7 years ago by Marmit. In fact, they have banged out the fan favourites with all the troopers, Yoda and Vader. Only Luke seemed a lesson Medicom learnt not to repeat.

And Sideshow has gone the way seemingly of the artisan-cum-historian. They meticulously produce the classic heroes, the Republic-era Jedi Council, Sith influence and interesting artifacts/furnitures. Just look at the number humanoid-faced figures they have produced and compare it against Medicom’s Star Wars line. I see Sideshow’s direction as very Star Wars fan driven rather than to cater for the masses.

Ideally, the Medicom-Sideshow combo should give fans all they need. Unfortunately, there are scale differences and some canyon-scale price differences. On the upside, both produces excellent figures. Sideshow may not be the best at producing accurate face sculpts but they are really good with accessories, armour, and weapons. I eagerly await their more affordable clones, Vader, droids and stormies.

Check in again to see Boba up close in his review here at SWFToys!

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 10 2007
Gab

Damn it! I neeeeeed Boba, a local retailer is supposed to get it, but apparently it’s gonna take a while.

7 10 2007
swftoys

Hi Gab,
This is one not to be missed! Can’t wait to break it out!

11 10 2007
Mohawk

i own the marmit boba – i’m sure medicom did a brilliant job but I can’t justify two brilliant boba’s! can’t wait to get my medicom jango…!

23 10 2007
Review - Medicom 12″ Boba Fett « SWFTOYS - Reviews, Showcase and Musings

[…] packaging for Boba Fett is collector friendly. No twist ties and only one adhesive tape to slit to release […]

Leave a Reply

