Incoming – Hot Toys 12″ Rambo III

10 07 2007

Not buying the Hot Toys Rambo II 12″ figure when it was available on the retail shelves used to be one of my biggest regrets recently. I distinctly remembered seeing it at the local store for sometime after it was released. However, I just did not take action to buy it although it looked great being the first Rambo 12″ figure to be out in a long while. And so it was that one day I decided to go pick one piece for myself and realised that Rambo II figures were sold out everywhere. It was hard to spot one even on local auction sites. Those available there were going for exorbitant prices.

I monitored the situation for months until the release of the Hot Toys First Blood figure. Naturally, I quickly picked it up even though I preferred the Rambo in the war zone look. The First Blood figure just wasn’t what I wanted although the movie was a good watch. Then came the announcement for Rambo III on the Hot Toys website. The figure looked splendid! I told myself that I’ll not miss this for anything! Pretty adamant grit one would think.

The day for the local release then came. I received an SMS beep on my mobile phone from the local toy shop. It was for Rambo III! Punching the air in triumphant in my heart, I thought to myself that I’ll zoom down right after work to pick one up. Plan is all worked out. Moments later, another beep came in. It read, “HT Endoskeleton in stores now. RRP… blah blah”. Already stretching my hobby dollar really tight with other purchased figures that month, this was really distressing. On one hand I did not want to burst the budget, on the other I risk missing out on a great figure.

 

That day, I picked up the Endoskeleton only. Difficult decision to make but it did reveal my preference between these 2 figures. Several days later, as Rambo III started to repeat the same disappearing act of Rambo II, I could not resist picking up one of the last pieces despite some creases on the box. Just cannot miss this guy one more time! And Rambo III looks much better than the previous two releases! “I’ll buy one less figure the following month”, I told myself.

Glad to get it, watch for the review!

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 07 2007
Gab

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this fig (though there’s not much articulation at the elbows, but that’s normal). HT really continues to surprise.

24 07 2007
swftoys

HT is actually improving by leaps and bounds! It’s really amazing to see how they have ventured from only military figures to movie-related figures. And they produce quality stuff that entices us all!

4 08 2007
Review - Hot Toys 12″ Rambo III « SWFTOYS - Reviews, Showcase and Musings

[…] closely with the movies’ posters. It is no difference for Rambo III. If you find the front box art familiar, chances are you’ve been there when the movie was released. Anyway, the glossy […]

Leave a Reply

