Incoming – Sideshow Star Wars 12″ Plo Koon

29 06 2007

Wow… it’s been more than 6 months since the last Jedi Master from Sideshow was reviewed here at SWFToys. The numbers of the Jedi Council have been stagnant. But no fear, the latest member of the Council has arrived from missions on the Outer Rim! *Drum roll* He is none other than Jedi Master Plo Koon! Now, Plo Koon is a rather special figure for me because he was in my sight since the Hasbro days.

And some of you will know the unbelievable price a Hasbro Plo Koon figure fetch on eBay. Yes, a Hasbro. I remember bidding was still furious beyond USD200. And it did not help that they were rare and only one or two are usually found on auction at any one time. I’ve not checked on the status of this figure of late though so I’m not sure if its price has depreciated with the release of Sideshow’s more affordable and definitely better 12″ figure of Plo Koon.

The Imperial counterpart of the Hasbro Plo Koon was probably the Scout Trooper. Not as expensive but also tough to spot one. And on a side note, we have yet to hear of a Scout Trooper in the pipeline from Sideshow or Medicom. This figure is sorely missing in my display cabinet. I’ve got a Hasbro Ewok who has no Biker Scout to harrass.

Before Sideshow came on the scene to rescue the 12″ Star Wars format, I was always hunting for Star Wars figures on eBay. It was a really crazy time. Somehow, fat Stormtroopers and AT-AT Drivers seemed normal then. And I even contemplated getting myself a Taun Taun. It did not matter if Han or Luke was on it.

The best figures out of Hasbro were probably Count Dooku, the C-3PO & TC-14 droids and the 13″ Vader(not the Dark Vador figure). And so my parents were really dumbfounded with all the parcels coming through the house and piling up in my room. If I had not gotten my own place, the boxes would have probably hit the ceiling.

Anyway, this little bit of background is the reason I am most exhilarated to finally have Plo Koon in my fold. Can’t wait to feel how his face feels like. Look for the review!

Actions

Information

One response

17 07 2007
Review - Sideshow Star Wars 12″ Plo Koon « SWFTOYS - Reviews, Showcase and Musings

[…] it is the latest release from the Order of the Jedi line from Sideshow, it’s box art has deviated to the Militaries of Star Wars line. So what we have instead of the cool portrait […]

Leave a Reply

