Showcase – 1/144 Chaos Gundam

25 04 2007

Here’s something I brought home when I cleared my workstation from my previous job. It’s a 1/144 scale Chaos Gundam from the anime Gundam Seed Destiny! This Ban Dai model kit was my first official foray into modeling back in 2005. I took up some lessons that went from cutting, filing, sanding, priming and airbrushing. All that basic stuff. No shading though. I find it a reasonable effort for a beginner.

Here’s some pics to share with everyone!

Actions

Information

15 responses

13 05 2007
Gab

I just started with these kits myself, got a basic airbrush gonna try it out soon enough, hope everything goes well.

14 05 2007
swftoys

Did u get a compressor as well? The whole set plus the airbrush costs quite a bit. Have yet to get them. Which kit are you working on now?

14 05 2007
Gab

Nope just got a basic Badger with a can of compressed air cost me $ 30 cad.

I started off by building the kits “naked”, then used paint with a brush (very unsatisfying). Now going to use the airbrush, just to do volume paint while the parts are still on the sprues, and touch ups with a brush for the cleaned up sprue attach points. A layer of primer first tough.

Tjhe first model I’m gonna try this on is the Crossbone X1. Ordered the second gen Zaku 2.0, if everything goes well, I’ll be doing a Desert Sand motif for it.

14 05 2007
swftoys

Sounds really great! I have 1/100 Duel Gundam still in progress. Some of those Zaku’s from Gundam Seed can be very cool.

It can be really satisfying putting together these kits. And its quite an equally costly hobby as 12″!

15 05 2007
Gab

It’s weird, it was an acquired taste for me, 2 months ago I had no idea what a gundam was until I was interested by a GM Sniper GFF. Now I’m expecting quite a few kits from HLJ, I hope I don’t botch things too badly, lol.

15 05 2007
swftoys

The Sniper is a classic love for Gundam fans!

Don’t be too worried about a botched kit. You can always use it as an experimental kit in the future. Want to find out a color is right? Spray on the experimental first!

Is HLJ the most convenient place to get Gundam kits in Montreal? How abt the local mall?

15 05 2007
Gab

They’re usually overpriced here, HLJ’s shipping costs are very decent. Shipping included, it comes up to be cheaper from Japan with a definitely larger selection available to you.

16 05 2007
swftoys

Gab, how about sharing some pics of your work when it is done? No hurries.

16 05 2007
Gab

lol, if I have the courage (assuming it turns out right) you’ll be the first to see.

17 05 2007
swftoys

Sure man! It’ll be fun! Maybe I can post it here!

21 05 2007
Gab

I’m having problems with the airbrush, the paint shows up as little points on surfaces, I was hoping on a smotther texture. Can’t figure this one out.

21 05 2007
swftoys

That can be due to airbrushing too near to the object. The best result I find is to brush a distance from it BUT it wastes alot of paint! Did you try to adjust the paint spread by turning the nozzle? You can experiment with different volume of the spray.

Finally, never point the airbrush on the subject when you begin spraying. Point it away, spray the airbrush and then move it over the object. You will avoid the initial bigger blob splatter this way.

22 05 2007
Gab

Sorry if I’m asking a lot of questions here, but I’d like to get things right in next attempts.

What’s usually the method you go by?

Cutting an cleaning, prime and paint after? When do I use putty for seams? Before painting? does that mean I have to assemble before painting? How do you keep track of all parts if you paint them before assembly?

Again sorry about the questions.

22 05 2007
swftoys

No worries dude. Ask away! I’ll help if i can.

Here’s what I do:
1) Cutting
2) Filing
3) Decide on assembling for color separation
4) Cement & modify (whichever first)
5) Filing & sanding
6) Apply putty where necessary then sanding
7) Prime if necessary
8) Mask parts
9) Airbrush

A lot of time is used in filing and sanding. It’s very impt because you’ll have more trouble doing these things once you’ve airbrushed.

Step 3 & 4 is very impt. I’ll try to explain in greater detail again because I’ve re-typed this comment several times due to the difficulty in explaining.

Since I have a Duel Gundam in that stage, maybe I can explain it with pics?

22 05 2007
Gab

Thanks, man!!

A pic tutorial would be amazing, Fitchenfoo has a nice tutorial as well, but I fell lost at some points. Plus I’m not exactly using the most sophisticated tools around.

Leave a Reply

