Travel – Hong Kong 2007 Pre-Trip Homework Part 1

27 02 2007

My Hong Kong pre-trip research has begun and I have uncovered some new locations to hunt for toys in Hong Kong! The 3 new places are

  • Richmond Commercial Centre

  • Sino Centre

  • Trendy Zone

The good news is that all 3 of these locations are in Mongkok which is where my hotel is and where CTMA Centre is also! I have put together a map showing all these 3 locations here. The source of the map is from the digital map at this website. Can’t wait to shop for toys at these places when they are a stone’s throw from my hotel!

My 2005 trip to Hong Kong also saw me staying at a hotel in Mongkok. However, I did not have enough time to fully explore the area. Actually, I knew of Richmond Commercial Centre and Sino Centre  but I forgot to note down exact location! Duh! I passed by Sino Centre and Trendy Zone several times but the front of these buildings had no indication of the treasures within! So, I am not missing out a visit to these places this time round!

You can read a short description of all these 3 locations here. It’s a pretty good website to find out about places to visit in Hong Kong.

I am excited already!

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 02 2007
shaun wong

hey vince, I stayed at a hotel next to Jordan MTR when I was there. Sino Centre used to sell all kinds of DVDs with toys mainly at the basement IIRC. Hah strangely on channel 55 on Starhub, they’re showing a series set at Langham Place Shopping Centre.

7 03 2007
swftoys

ha. would that be the Majestic? Heard that is it on top of Jordan MTR! But there are no toys at Langham Shopping Centre! I remembered buying something at Starbucks there just to be able to use the Internet to locate Toyzone! Memorable indeed…

2 04 2007
Travel - Hong Kong 2007 Pitstop 3: Richmond Shopping Centre @ Mongkok « SWFTOYS - Reviews, Showcase and Musings

[…] The Richmond Shopping Centre was a gem of a place that I missed in my first trip to Hong Kong in 2005. Well, I did not know it was quite a gem then. But reading reports from other toy hunters who had visited it convinced me that this place really seemed to be another CTMA Centre. Found at the junction of Argyle Street and Sai Yee Street, it’s less than 100m from the Argyle Street Mongkok MTR exit. Once you are out of the MTR exit, just walk along Argyle Street towards Sai Yee Street. You can’t miss it, it’s the last building before Sai Yee Street. For a map to Richmond Shopping Centre, please refer to this post. […]

6 04 2007
Travel - Hong Kong Pitstop 9 : Sino Centre @ Mong Kok « SWFTOYS - Reviews, Showcase and Musings

[…] Centre at Mong Kok was one of the locations highlighted for a visit in my pre-trip post. I headed there after riding the MTR from Causeway Bay back to Mong Kok. Anyway it was along the […]

Leave a Reply

