Comics – Batman: The Dark Knight Returns

1 10 2006


Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller

Originally uploaded by swftoys.

This was one of the first comics I had picked up recently but it sure took me a while to read it till the end. While I bought it because it is immortalised as an excellent classic, I found going through it difficult. I guess it was the artwork that did not sit well with me.

As much as I wanted to identify with the many fans of this comic, I could not. I found that I wanted to keep reading so that I could put it behind me. And I found drawn to my other comic purchases such as the X-Men or Star Wars. Well… you can’t blame me for the latter because I am a Star Wars fan.

However, I must admit that the writing and story is very good. I discovered that I actually appreciated the depth of the story when I returned to read this after reading X-Men and Star Wars! It seemed more mentally stimulating although too much of it at one go still put me to sleep. I still needed the occasional ‘pow’, ‘sknit’ or ‘wham’ kind of action.

I need to be true to my comic taste. Afterall, that was what first got me into reading comic as a kid.

Having said all this, it was still a great exposure to this classic work from Frank Miller. The premise of a forty-something Batman was new to me although it seemed to have been done several times so far… as I had discovered lately. It was inevitable before the comics explored the aging of Batman who is not a mutant.

I did like the gritty pencils when it comes to depicting the Dark Knight but I can’t say the same for those mutants. Thinking back, it was really a comic design so different from mainstream offerings. I mean each page was divided into so many cells loading the reader with a bit of the plot that completes a full picture over time. It was like anti-liasing the jaggies in computer graphics. Everything worked out to become a complete and smooth plot.

While I may not pick it up again to read it completely, I am sure I will look though it again for inspiration somehow in the future. I am glad I found my comics nature through this comic. Now bring on Jim Lee!

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 10 2006
shaun wong

The art sure put me off this book initially, but since Frank Miller wrote it and it seemed to be comic cannon, I had to sit through it. I like the grittiness and maturity of the book, but its really hard on the eyes! I think Frank Miller did his best work on Batman Year One though. Oh, this book gave us the tumbler, so yeah, credit where credit’s due.

13 10 2006
knight

Glad I found this site, I’ve been searching for something like this for awhile now.

13 10 2006
swftoys

Welcome knight! Pls look around and enjoy yourself!

21 02 2011
Get Dropbox FREE!

I favor your design incredibly much. I would wish to know exactly where can i get this kind of layout for my blog page?

Leave a Reply

